The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn

The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn

Hardback original

Hardback (07 May 2020)

Save $12.83

  • $30.01
  • $17.18
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

10+ copies available online - Usually dispatched within 72 hours

Other sellers available

Synopsis

'Animal lovers will delight' Ann Granger

'A real treat . . . I loved it. Cats, dogs, murder and a credible and relatable heroine' Barbara Nadel

Clarice Beech has two passions in life: animal rescue and Detective Inspector Rick Beech. She is devoted to the first but she and Rick have been separated for the past six months - life without him is hard.

Clarice shares her other love, for contemporary ceramics, with the charming Lady Vita Fayrepoynt. When Vita's adopted three-legged ginger cat Walter disappears from Weatherby Hall Clarice is called in to find him. Walter, snug in an old barn, is quite well. But his discovery ends with Clarice in hospital, and Rose Miller, late of the Old Vicarage in the morgue. There is nothing natural about Rose's death...

Putting their differences aside, Clarice and Rick are drawn together to try to understand the murder that has shaken the rural Lincolnshire community. As she explores Rose's past Clarice is pulled into a shady world of blackmail, scams and violence. And as the secrets of Weatherby Hall and the Fayrepoynt family threaten to spill out Clarice finds friendships tested, and her own life at risk.

A debut mystery set in the Lincolnshire Wolds, featuring an amateur detective who mixes sleuthing with her other great love: animal rescue. The perfect classic crime mystery for fans of Ann Granger, M. C. Beaton and Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders.

About the Publisher

Constable

Constable

Recently acquired by Little, Brown Book Group, Constable publishes a diverse range of bestselling fiction and non-fiction titles. Notable is Constable?s superb crime list, with MC Beaton at the forefront of the beloved ?cosy crime? genre with her bestselling Hamish McBeth and Agatha Raisin series. Constable also boasts a strong non-fiction section, publishing the likes of HRH Princess Michael of Kent and bestselling parody We?re Going on a Bar Hunt.

Book information

ISBN: 9781472131737
Publisher: Little, Brown
Imprint: Constable
Pub date:
Edition: Hardback original
DEWEY: 823.92
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: 330
Weight: 536g
Height: 165mm
Width: 242mm
Spine width: 35mm