The Fall of Doctor Onslow

The Fall of Doctor Onslow - Faber Finds

New edition

Paperback (27 Nov 2014)

Not available for sale

Includes delivery to USA

Out of stock

This service is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Publisher's Synopsis

The Fall of Doctor Onslow (1994) was the sixth and final novel by Frances Vernon (1963-91). Published posthumously, it is perhaps her finest work. Set in 1858, it is the story of Dr George Onslow, reformist headmaster of a leading public school, who harbours private passions that are fated to be the death of his life's ambition.

'A searing indictment of the process of education... The narrative is tersely written in a style that successfully captures Victorian restraint and its stifling sensibilities.' Ben Preston, The Times

'A remarkable work, written with spirit and erudition... It is difficult to believe when reading it that the author was a child of our times and did not actually live in the middle of the last century: she recreates that world so vividly, with such understanding of its characters, such an ear for its speech, such feeling for its attitudes and taboos.' Jill Delay, Tablet

Book information

ISBN: 9780571322565
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Imprint: Faber & Faber
Pub date:
Edition: New edition
DEWEY: 823.914
DEWEY edition: 23
Language: English
Number of pages: xviii, 218
Weight: 301g
Height: 216mm
Width: 135mm
Spine width: 17mm