The Oresteian Trilogy

The Oresteian Trilogy - Penguin Classics

Paperback (26 Jul 1973)

Save $0.48

  • $14.03
  • $13.55
Add to basket

Includes delivery to USA

1 copy available online - Usually dispatched within 48 hours


Aeschylus (525-c.456 bc) set his great trilogy in the immediate aftermath of the Fall of Troy, when King Agamemnon returns to Argos, a victor in war. Agamemnon depicts the hero's discovery that his family has been destroyed by his wife's infidelity and ends with his death at her callous hand. Clytemnestra's crime is repaid in The Choephori when her outraged son Orestes kills both her and her lover. The Eumenides then follows Orestes as he is hounded to Athens by the Furies' law of vengeance and depicts Athene replacing the bloody cycle of revenge with a system of civil justice. Written in the years after the Battle of Marathon, The Oresteian Trilogy affirmed the deliverance of democratic Athens not only from Persian conquest, but also from its own barbaric past.

Book information

ISBN: 9780140440676
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Imprint: Penguin Classics
Pub date:
DEWEY: 882.01
DEWEY edition: 22
Language: English
Number of pages: 203
Weight: 164g
Height: 196mm
Width: 129mm
Spine width: 13mm